The SBRRB members volunteer their time by reviewing rules and regulations, attending state agency meetings, making presentations, performing outreach activities to small business organizations, and commenting on legislation. The Board is scheduled to meet monthly and terms of membership are for 4 years.

Statutorily, the SBRRB is comprised of eleven members – ten current or former owners or officers of businesses from across the State, and the Director of DBEDT or the Director’s designated representative, who serves as an “ex officio” board member.

Aside from DBEDT’s Director, the board members, with the advice and consent of the Senate, are appointed by the Governor. Three members are appointed from a list of nominees submitted by the President of the Senate, three members are appointed from a list of nominees submitted by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, two members are appointed by the SBRRB, and two members are appointed by the Governor.

The appointments reflect a representation of a variety of businesses in the State with no more than two members from the same type of business and at least one representative from each county. In addition, nominations are solicited from small business organizations, state and county chambers of commerce and other interested business organizations.

How to apply

Thank you for your interest in helping small business in Hawaii. Please submit your application on line. The Hawaii State Boards and Commissions will contact you upon selection.

Small Business Regulatory Review Board Orientation Manual 2024


Please contact the board at (808) 798-0737 or by email at [email protected].